Send topic to cloud on SMS receipt using Raspberry Pi

Hi everyone, newbie here.

I have a Nova with an activated SIM. Let’s presume everything, as far as connectivity goes, is working perfectly for the time being. I have a raspberry pi zero with the Nova connected, SDK is loaded up.

My current project concept in a nutshell:

• Someone sends an SMS to the number I purchased for my Nova, containing a command “do needful”
  • The RPi executes a script “do_needful.sh”, which completes by sending a confirmation message with exit code back through the cloud via email router, or some other router

I was looking at an SMS chat example python script to get some ideas, but I’m not convinced that my simple project requires python. I believe this could be done with bash scripting alone.

Seems like folks here have some experience with the SDK… I was curious if anyone has some pointers or examples they can share that help accomplish a workflow like this? I see that the modem can be run in two modes; ‘agnostic’ mode and ‘cellular modem’ mode. Does one mode tend to consume more data than another for sending cloud messages, or is one of the modes not capable of doing so?

Ultimately I’d like to avoid sending a custom mobile app to the user, or requiring them to access a web site. Hence the thought of sending the command via SMS (and it’s free?). However, the completion/exit status message is going to an administrative user. I do not mind having to deploy a custom mobile app or slack channel post. It just needs to be readable from the admin’s mobile device and use as little data as possible.

I know these posts can suck. I wouldn’t be doing this normally but I feel like I am missing a chunk of documentation that is stuffed into the site somewhere…

Thank you for any advice you can provide,
-Cory