3v3 malfunction?

Hello,

I started playing with my Konekt Dash since yesterday, but can’t seem to get it working with its modem.

After installing the driver, registering the SIM etc and updating the software with the arduino IDE (Konekt Dash Arduino IDE “Hello World” example), i could see on the serial monitor:
‘sending message to the cloud’ followed by ‘message sent’ every 60s.

but nothing in the cloud appears in the topics dashboard.

Now initially i didn’t read the jumper warning and connected the battery right into the thing. (what can i say…) Maybe this broke it.
I also tried re-inserting the sim card (while power off) a few times,which i read in another topic, but no effect.

One time i saw in the serial monitor some more debug messages (bootstrapping 1/14), … But this was just counting down 4 minutes intervals and repeating. That only appeared one power cycle. Now it just says a message was sent to the cloud.

I have the jumper set to battery mode, with battery connected and usb input.
Finally i tried to send a sms to the Dash and check if it receives anything on serial monitor, but nothing.
Now i broke-out a multimeter:
+5V reads 5.0V. Battery input measured 3.8V. Regulator output pin measures 3.3V.
Big hole in the PCB just above the jumpers measures 3.3V but the 3v3 output pins measures open circuit.

If i blew it up, can you point me in the right direction which parts to diagnose on the board?
I cannot find any discolered parts, like a burnt resistor.
I have a scope etc

Otherwise, are there more (lower-level) debugging options you can recommend to check if the modem and micro are communicating with each other? Or that the cloud can see the SIM is on the network?
I could apply an external 3v3 to the dash’s 3v3 output pin, but without schematic i find it too risky to try now.

Sorry for the long story, at least everything i could think of is in it.
Please support.

Kind regards,
Jochem

@Jochem,

That is strange that 3.3V would measure as open.