DashPro not connecting to the Ubuntu USB controller

I’m just getting started with a DashPro, connected to an Ubuntu based Arduino IDE. I’m not able to see the port activated for the card after I plug in the usb cable. I can see the power up led’s activate so it appears to have power. I’ve checked with dmesg and lsusb and still am not seeing anything. I’m expecting to see something similar to the Arduino board that I also use - “/dev/ttyACM0”, but so far nothing. Any help is appreciated.

Update: I’ve followed two paths: Linux & Windows

Linux
I downloaded the updater utility and tried to update to the latest firmware 0.9.2, but still not connecting, I received an error message saying no device available. No new port available within the Arduino IDE. dmesg and lsusb still not showing anything. I’m going to try using a powered usb hub to eliminate power issues.

Windows
I’ve had better/partial luck in a Windows 7 HP laptop. I was able to download the updater utility and update successfully to the latest firmware 0.9.2 using the USB connection. I was not able to see the new COM port in the Arduino IDE until I updated the usb driver using the recommended driver set. I then used the Arduino IDE and compiled the Hello World sketch. I was able to export the bin file and upload using the updater utility (not the IDE) and confirmed receiving the Hello World messages in the cloud. Unfortunately, I’m still not able to load from the IDE as it failed with the following error message:

Arduino: 1.6.9 (Windows 7), Board: “DashPro, 120MHz, Check”

Sketch uses 12,740 bytes (1%) of program storage space. Maximum is 1,014,764 bytes.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “dashupdater.py”, line 369, in
File “dashupdater.py”, line 354, in main
File “dashupdater.py”, line 303, in update
File “libs\updatergui.py”, line 123, in show_exception
File “site-packages\easygui\boxes\derived_boxes.py”, line 522, in exceptionbox