MicroController + GPS + Cellular ... Small and Low Power?

Hello Hologram Folks,

I am a software developer new to IoT & hardware, so apologies if these questions are basic. I’ve browsed existing threads and have not found what I’m looking for yet, so let me know if I missed one.

I am setting out to build a small child GPS tracker as my first learning project, and I want to make sure I make an informed choice on hardware.

Here are my goals/requirements for the device:

1. Cellular enabled, works in Italy (assuming Hologram SIM’s got me covered there)
  2. GPS enabled (it is a kid tracker, after all).
  3. Sends location updates to cloud every 30 seconds
  4. Has a battery life of at least 10 hours.
  5. Device is as small as possible, a child could wear on a lanyard, maybe even watch or attached to clothing.

Having watched this video, and looked at this tutorial, I think I need an assembly with the following:

1. microcontroller
  2. cellular radio
  3. GPS breakout
  4. battery
  5. antenna

… and eventually a housing to wrap it all up.

I plan to program this assembly with a simple python script that reports data to the webserver every short time interval. Nothing fancy.

Some assemblies that I think may work based on the links above:

1. [Hologram Dash (Microcontroller + Cellular)] + Adafruit GPS Breakout
  2. Pycom GPy (Cellular microcontroller) + Pytrack GPS shield
  3. Adafruit Fona 808 (GPS + Cellular breakouts) + Arduino Nano

Overarching questions:

• Given that my use case is in Italy, is it problematic or beneficial to be using a 2G cellular connection as opposed to more recent LTE-M / NBIoT? The Pycom solutions seems to be only 2G … does that mean I’m buying obfuscated hardware, or on the otherhand, how do I know which networks in Italy even support the newer LTE-M stuff?

• What are the power considerations of each assembly … which would have the best battery life?