Which carriers work to send SMS

Hi All,

First off, I am a complete newbie with everything related to sim cards and mobile carriers. Please forgive any stupid questions :slight_smile:

I am designing a product with a very simple micro controller communicating to a NimbeLink cell modem with a Hologram sim card. The goal is to use this system anywhere in the U.S. to send occasional SMS messages. Communication to the cell modem is working well and sometimes I can send the SMS through the system (using “AT+CMGS=” command) but sometimes the cell modem simply can’t send the SMS. I suspect some cell carriers allow SMS messages but some don’t. Are there only certain carriers which are able to do this? If only carriers allow SMS messages, is it possible to configure the modem to only use those carriers?

Thanks in advance!
Kevin

SMS should be supported by all carriers in the US. We have seen issues of sending messages between carriers, as in sending it to your phone on a different provider than what the SIM is on but sending SMS should not be an issue on any carrier.

Is it possible the message you are sending is not configured right? Like over 160 characters long or encoded improperly?

Thanks for the good information Dom. Sending the AT+CMGS= command works fine 95% of the time but occasionally the cell modem fails to send the OK response and the text message never reaches its destination. The same message of only 30 characters is being sent every time so it’s not a message formatting issue. Nimbelink tech support seems to think certain carriers can’t process the AT+CMGS= command. I’m trying to read the carrier information out of the cell modem when it fails but haven’t been successful yet. Let me know if you have any other ideas.

Thanks,
Kevin

So doing AT+COPS? fails when it doesn’t successfully send a message?