Carriers in Canada

Whelp, Day 3 of trying to figure this all out. Total newbie to using modem modules so go easy. I have two modems:

SIM7000A and SIM800L - Both of which are not getting into a registered status.

Starting with the SIM7000A (The prefered modem) when I can for carriers (COPS=?) I can see both Bell, and Telus. On the SIM800L I can see Rogers. Both modems end up in a Denied state (GREG: 0,3)

I assume the SIM7000A would only report networks that are responding and working with the IoT-M protocols (M1 or NB). There was a thread here that stated all the major carriers (Bell, Rogers and Telus) were supported, but the coverage map only show Rogers (and others not near me). I slapped my Telus data only SIM into this modem and also got a denied state.

The SIM800L while connecting to rogers would still only get a denied state with the hologram SIM.

I’m currently using the FONA library test sketch, so nothing fancy.

The project will be tested in the US, and I see in the forums that I should be OK there - I’d just really like to get the dev work out of the way here before I head down to play.

Any thoughts, suggestions would be welcome. TIA.

I’m assuming you activated the simcard in the hologram dashboard? Did you set the APN correctly on both devices (apn=“hologram”, no username or password). I would also leave the modems (with activated sim installed) up and running for a few hours, and see if they connect during that time. The first registration can take a while (usually less than 15 minutes, but just to be safe leave it for hours). I have seen it take longer if I turn on the modem with a simcard I haven’t activated yet and it gets rejected a few times. Maybe the tower temporarily black lists it or something.

I have a sim800L in Victoria (near Vancouver) successfully connected to Rogers:

From hologram dashboard “inspect”, some fields anonymized: